Clergy, faith leaders, and community leaders from throughout Indiana gathered on the south steps of the Indiana Statehouse at noon on Tuesday, January 19, to pray for our communities, our state, and our nation. 


On the day after Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Day and before Inauguration Day, community leaders came together in earnest to share a unified prayer for:


  • Divine guidance for elected leaders and a peaceful transfer of power in our nation’s capital
  • The people who have suffered and lost loved ones during this pandemic
  • Front-line workers who continue to sacrifice to keep us healthy and safe by compromising their own safety


We pray that each of us, in our own unique capacity, finds the will and the determination to do the right thing, address inequities, and boldly face the health and safety challenges that lie before us. We pray that each of us finds the wisdom and the grace to truly live into the motto that defines these United States of America, E Pluribus Unum: From Many, One.


Watch the live video here >

Photos >


Bishop Julius C. Trimble – United Methodist Churches of Indiana

Reverend Brian Shivers – Second Presbyterian Church

Imam Mikal Saahir – Nur-Allah Islamic Center

Dr. Anita Joshi – Hindu Temple of Central Indiana

Rabbi Dennis C. Sasso – Senior Rabbi, Congregation Beth-El Zedeck

Rabbi Sandy Eisenberg Sasso, Rabbi Emerita, Congregation Beth-El Zedeck

Maria Pimentel Gannon –Catholic Christian

Father Rick Ginther – Center for Interfaith Cooperation

Tony Wiederhold – Indianapolis Zen Center

Sonal Sanghani – Jain Center of Indianapolis

Reverend Nathan Day Wilson – Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) and Christian Theological


Reverend David Williamson – Zionsville United Methodist Church

Reverend Rob Fuquay – St. Luke’s United Methodist Church

Reverend Jerry Zehr – Pastor Carmel Christian Church/Indiana Multifaith Network

Reverend Jerry Rairdon – Lead Pastor, Noblesville First United Methodist Church

KP Singh – Sikh Satsang of Indianapolis

Reverend Dr. David M. Mellott, President – Christian Theological Seminary

Rev Wesley Smith III – Zionsville Lutheran Church

Rev. Jill Moffett, Noblesville First United Methodist Church

The Reverend Lori Bievenour -Senior Pastor, St. Peter’s UCC

William Schwein, retired United Methodist Pastor, Brownsburg, Indiana

Robert Welsh, President Emeritus, Council on Christian Unity, Christian Church (Disciples of


Rev. Dr. Richard L. Hamm, former General Minister and President of the Christian Church

(Disciples of Christ) in the US and Canada

Rev. Dr. Cyndi Alte and Doug Alte, United Methodist

Reverend Linda Mckiernan-Allen, clergy Disciples of Christ

Reverend Dr Ronald J Allen, professor emeritus — Christian Theological Seminary

Rev. Aaron Hobbs – Broadway United Methodist Church

Reverend Linda McCrae, Senior Pastor — Central Christian Church, Indianapolis

Rev. Lisa Schubert Nowling – First United Methodist Church (Bloomington, IN)

JR Sandadi – Hindu SwayamSevak Sangh (HSS, USA) Great Lakes Region Joint- Executive Director

Rev. Karen Powell – Retired Elder United Methodist Church

Ruth Ellen Homer – Center for Interfaith Cooperation Board Member; Interfaith Specialist for

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

Reverend Mary Beth Morgan, St. Mark’s United Methodist Church, Bloomington

Dr. Leah Gunning Francis, Vice President and Dean of Faculty — Christian Theological Seminary

Bob and Midge Greising – Meridian Street United Methodist Church

Rev Dr. Dan Moseley, professor emeritus — Christian Theological Seminary

Rev. Jimmy Moore, St. Mark’s United Methodist, Bloomington

Charlie Wiles – Executive Director, Center for Interfaith Cooperation

Don Knebel – Center for Interfaith Cooperation

Vincent Romero – Bahá’í Community of Indianapolis

Rev. Donna K Goings – Bloomington First United Methodist Church Kevin Kimbrough Soka Gakkai Buddhist Community Rev. Jack Harford – Heavenly Parent’s Holy Community of Indiana